The first Rugby Festival in Central Java

The first Rugby Festival in Central Java

Central Java successfully held their first Rugby Festival on Sunday 23rd February. There were 12 teams of participants from junior high, high school and university and the Rugby Club. The festival was held at Lapangan Kota Barat, Solo. Even though this is the first Rugby festival, Rugby in Central Java is clearly showing their huge potential with 6 Cities/Regencies participating in this festival: Boyolali, Karanganyar, Sukoharjo, Sragen, Salatiga and Surakarta City.

The recently elected chairman of PRUI Central Java, Anang Waskito expressed his enthusiasm to lead Rugby in this province that has a population of 32 million. “We have a great potential with the enormous population and our youth that have been in love with Rugby. They can run all activities from Get Into Rugby programs and to run Rugby Festivals. We believe we will soon competing in the highest level in Indonesia. Just wait.” Waskito explained.

The other good thing about this Festival is there were 8 (eight) University students and 1 (one) Professor from Ryutsu Keizai University (Japan) attending the event. This visiting program was a collaboration program between PB PRUI and JICA (Japanese International Cooperation Agency) and RKU in promoting Rugby in Indonesia.

Let us wait for the rise of Rugby in Central Java!

Festival Rugby Jawa Tengah 2020 Winners.

Junior High School

1st Winner                : SMP Musuk,Boyolali

2nd Winner               : SMP daarul Quran A, karanganyar

3rd Winner                : SMP daarul Quran B, Karanganyar

Senior High School BOYS

1st Winner                : SMK N 1 musuk, Boyolali

2nd Winner               : SMK sakti sragen

3rd Winner                :  SMA muhammadiyah Surakarta

Senior High School GIRLS

1st Winner                : SMK N 1 musuk, Boyolali

2nd Winner               : SMK N 1 Mojosongo,Boyolali

3rd Winner                : SMA N 2 plupuh Sragen


1st Winner                : UNS surakarta

2nd Winner               : UTP surakarta

3rd Winner                : UKSW Salatiga


1st Winner                : Ganeshans Rugby club

2nd Winner               : Gonilans Rugby club

3rd Winner                : Barbarian Boyolali Rugby club