From IDR to PRUI and National Sport Recognition

From IDR to PRUI and National Sport Recognition

Over the past weekend the Minutes of the inaugural Indonesian Development Rugby (IDR) Meeting held on Tuesday February 17, 2004, which was held at Cilantro Restaurant (now closed), 46th Floor, BNI Building were found and noted for future reference. IDR has since gone onto become Persatuan Rugby Union Indonesia (PRUI) and last week the Game of Rugby Union was recognised as a National Sport by the Indonesian National Sports Committee (KONI). This achievement is a testament to the gentleman who formed that inaugural IDR Committee over nine and half years ago and their vision for Rugby to gain recognition as a National Sport.

The inaugural IDR Committee Members were as follows:

President – Andrew Nugroho
Vice President – Lawrie Jorgensen
Secretary – Stephen Barber
Treasurer – Alistair McLeod
Assistant Treasurer – Larry Luckey
Sponsorship – Andrew Vater
Regional Liaison Rep – Scott Thompson
Uniform Design – Nick Villeprieux (Hong Kong based)
Women’s Rugby – Mike Runyan
Coaching Coordinator – Dave Letchford
New Club Development – Paul Quaglia
Media & Marketing – Andy Nugroho
Committee – Brian Millen, Deano Herewini, Andre Cita, Neil Watson

On March 10, 2004, seven of the gentleman above were on hand to legally lay the foundations on which IDR was created. These gentlemen are now recognised as the Co-Founders of Indonesian Rugby and they are as follows:

  • Andrew Nugroho
  • Lawrence Jorgensen
  • Stephen Barber
  • Paul Quaglia
  • Andrew Vater
  • Deano Herewini
  • Brian Millen

It also interesting to note in these minutes (see below) that the first ever IDR Training Session was held on Saturday February 7th, 2004 at the Club Rasuna Field; there were 6 attendees – 4 Nationals plus Paul Quaglia and Stephen Barber.

Related Document

IDR Minutes – 1st Meeting