Jamie Wellington’s Memory Honoured by Nick Mesritz

Jamie Wellington’s Memory Honoured by Nick Mesritz

The ‘Jamie Wellington Rugby Excellence Award’ was named in honour of Jamie Wellington, who was a member of the touring ISCI Rugby Team killed in the Bali Bombings on October 12, 2002. This year’s recipient of this award was Nick Mesritz, who has for several years given a lot of his time towards the development of Bali Rugby on and off the field as a player, coach and administrator. Nick also represented the Indonesian National Rugby Team the Rhinos from 2009-13, playing 10 tests as a prop during this time. Nick pictured above on the left received his award plus the perpetual trophy from former Wallaby Ben Darwin and PRUI Chairman, Yudha Ramon at the ‘2013 Indonesian Rugby Charity Lunch’.

Prior to his death in the bombings, Jamie Wellington was the Secretary of the ISCI Rugby Club and he had discussed with his friends including Deano Herewini (Co-Founder of PRUI) how Indonesia could attain IRB status. Unfortunately for Jamie who was also a respected Teacher at the Jakarta International School his life was cut short, but his good friend Deano joined with others to establish Indonesian Rugby in May 2004, which later gained IRB Associate Member Status in May 2008. Jamie Wellington’s family and Indonesian Rugby are honoured to remember Jamie and his desire for Indonesian Rugby to attain IRB* status with such an award.

The “Jamie Wellington Indonesian Rugby Excellence Award” is presented annually and the following persons or groups have been recipients:

2006 – Andrew Vater
2007 – Chris Briggs & George Deda
2008 – Paul Quaglia
2009 – Thiess Contractors Indonesia
2010 – Bobby Orlando & Justin Sampson
2011 – Chris Rowe
2012 – Alan Nye
2013 – Nick Mesritz

*Indonesian Rugby has been an Associate Member of the IRB since 2008 and recently submitted a Strategic Plan for 2014-17 to the IRB to gain Full Membership in November this year.