Xclusive Property 2014 Bali Rugby Fest was a Roaring Success

Xclusive Property 2014 Bali Rugby Fest was a Roaring Success

Bali Rugby hosted a sensational 20th Anniversary Bali 10’s as part of the “Xclusive Property 2014 Bali Rugby Fest” over the weekend at Lapangan Yoga Perkanthi in the Jimbaran district of Bali. Seventeen men’s teams from Australia, Malaysia, Singapore, Timor Leste and Indonesia battled it out in an Open Men’s 10’s Tournament, while five Indonesian club sides play for the honour of being crowned the 2014 Britmindo Indonesian National Club 7’s Champions. There was also a Papua Women’s Team who played a number of 7’s matches against the South Darwin Bunnies from NT, Australia.

This was the first year that the “Xclusive Property Bali Rugby Fest” has been played in the Jimbaran Bay area and the location was voiced by many teams and supporters as being the best yet in the 20-year history of the tournament which has been previously played at the Grand Bali Beach Resort in Sanur and more recently at the Canggu Club.

Saturday saw pool play in the Men’s 10’s and Indonesian Club 7’s, plus some warm up games for the ladies. A total of 36 games were played in the scorching Bali sun and by the end of day one teams like Rowzy Pegasi (Aus), the Kalamunda Bulls (Aus), Nedlands (Aus) and the KK Sharks (Mal) were putting their hands up as potential cup winners on day two. In the National Club 7’s the young Bandung and UNJ teams were very impressive despite coming off second best in most of their games against the stronger and more fancied sides in the Jakarta Bantengs, the Bali Hanoman and the Papua Kotekas.

This was the first time the young Papua Women’s Team had toured and despite being out sized and out gunned by the Bunnies they gave it their all throughout the weekend’s play.

Sunday was finals day and for some teams this meant as early trip to the beer tent while the others fought their way through a series of matches to reach either the Shield, Bowl, Plate or Cup Final in the Men’s 10’s or the Plate or the Cup in the Indonesian National Club 7’s Finals. For all the results on Finals’ Day please see below:

Men’s 10’s Bowl/Shield Quarter Finals:
Uni Teknologi Petronas (Mal) 12 d Benfica Dili Karau (TL) 0
Gaulois XV (Sin) 10 d Lane Cove (Aus) 0
Bali Chillis (Ind) 17 d Storm Troopers (Aus) 0
South Brisbane Magpies (Aus) 15 d Jakarta Banteng (Ind) 0

Men’s 10’s Cup/Plate Quarter Finals:
Kalamunda Bulls (Aus) 29 d Palmyra Spartans (Aus) 7
KK Skarks (Mal) 14 d Cottesloe (Aus) 5
Rowzy Pegasi (Aus) 14 d Jakarta Komodos 0
Nedlands (Aus) 10 d Associates Bloaks (Aus) 7

Men’s 10’s Shield Semi-Finals:
Jakarta Banteng (Ind) 33 d Benfica Dili Karau (TL) 0
Lane Cove (Aus) 12 d Storm Troopers (Aus) 0

Men’s 10’s Bowl Semi-Finals:
South Brisbane Magpies (Aus) 14 d Uni Teknologi Petronas (Mal) 7
Gaulois XV (Sin) 12 d Bali Chillis (Ind) 0

Men’s 10’s Plate Semi-Finals:
Associates Bloaks (Aus) 21 d Palmyra Spartans (Aus) 7
Jakarta Komodos (Ind) 17 d Cottesloe (Aus) 7

Men’s 10’s Cup Semi-Finals:
Kalamunda Bulls (Aus) 7 d Nedlands (Aus) 0
KK Sharks (Mal) 12 d Rowzy Pegasi (Aus) 5

Men’s 10’s Shield Final:
Lane Cove (Aus) 17 d Jakarta Banteng (Ind) 12

Men’s 10’s Bowl Final: 
South Brisbane Magpies (Aus) 7 d Gaulois XV (Sin) 0

Men’s 10’s Plate Final:
Associates Bloaks (Aus) 26 d Jakarta Komodos (Ind) 5

Men’s 10’s Cup Final:
KK Sharks (Mal) 17 d Kalamunda Bulls (Aus) 12

Indonesian National Club 7’s Plate Final Qualifier:
UNJ 26 d Bandung Rams 7

Indonesian National Club 7’s Cup Final Qualifier:
Papua Kotekas 15 d Bali Hanoman 7

Indonesian National Club 7’s Plate Final:
Bali Hanoman 19 d UNJ 7

Indonesian National Club 7’s Cup Final: 
Jakarta Banteng 24 d Papua Kotekas 10
Indonesian Rugby is very thankful to Kurt and Faiz Lovell plus all the team from the Bali Rugby Club who put on a fantastic tournament, which would not have been possible without great support from Tournament Sponsors – Xclusive Property, Tsunami, Heineken and Mercure Hotel Sanur (who accommodated all the Referees) and provided the tournament ground announcer in Luke Benbow. Thanks also to Britmindo who sponsored the Indonesian National Men’s 7’s Tournament.